Our Parish


Bishop Niall Coll

Bishop Niall Coll was appointed Bishop of Ossory by Pope Francis on 28th October 2023.

Bishop Coll is the oldest of four children, born to Willie and Kathleen Coll of St Johnson, Co Donegal in 1963.  He attended the local national school of St Baithin and St Eunan’s College, Letterkenny.  He entered St Patrick’s College Maynooth to begin his priestly formation in 1981.  He was ordained to the priesthood by Bishop Seamus Hegarty for the Diocese of Raphoe in 1988.  On completion of further studies in Rome he worked in various different pastoral appointments in Raphoe.

In 1995 he was appointed lecturer at St Patrick’s College Carlow and following a period as chaplain in Pobalscoil na Rossan and curate in the parish of Dungloe he was appointed as Senior Lecturer in Religious Studies and Religious Education at St Mary’s University College, Belfast.

In 2020 he returned to his native Raphoe and was appointed parish priest of Drumholm and a year later transferred to the parish of Tawnawilly (Donegal Town and Clar).

Bishop Coll was ordained by Archbishop Dermot Farrell on the 22nd of January 2023.  The co-consecrators were Bishop Denis Nulty, (Bishop of Kildare and Leighlin) and Bishop Alan McGuckian SJ (Bishop of Raphoe).  He is the 96th bishop of Ossory.

Address: Diocesan Office, James’ Street, Kilkenny.
Tel +353 (0)56 776 2448
Email: bishop@ossory.ie

Rev Dermot Ryan – Administrator of St Mary’s Cathedral

Dermot, was born in Ferrybank in the South of the Diocese, but grew up in St Patrick’s Parish in Kilkenny. After Ordination he returned to Ferrybank as Curate for three years before been sent to pursue further studies in the Gregorian University in Rome where he attained his Doctorate for a study in Ecclesiology with a work entitled “Method to Mission: The Ecclesial Vocation of a Theologian”. 

On his return to the Diocese Dermot was appointed Director of Adult Faith Development where he, along with a dedicated group of people, continually explore ways to help people deepen their knowledge and love of God. They have developed a number of national faith programmes  – Aspal, Ireland’s Digital Faith Formation platform and the MyFaith Programme of Sacramental Preparation. Dermot lectures in Dogmatic Theology in Carlow College and continues to serve as the President of St Kieran’s College, as a proud past pupil, a role he has undertaken since 2012.

Dermot has a keen interest in sport, particularly hurling, and distance running, theology and bringing faith to life – all of which he will continue as Administrator of the Cathedral Parish. 

Address: St Mary’s Cathedral, James’ Street, Kilkenny. R95H1K1
Phone: + 353 (0)86 609 7484
Email: dermotryan@ossory.ie


Sr Maria Comerford – Sacramental Coordinator

Sr Maria, a native of Tipperary, is a member of the Sisters of Mercy, Callan. Sr Maria worked in St Bridgid’s Secondary School in Callan before being appointed to the Regional Mercy Office in Cork in 2013. On her return to Callan, Sr Maria joined the team in St Mary’s Cathedral and is the sacramental co-ordinator. Sr Maria works with the local parish school, co-ordinates the parent committee associated with First Communion and Confirmation and assists with the parish celebrations of the sacramental groups.


Rita Neary – Parish Secretary

Rita, a native of St Mary’s Parish, has worked in the Parish Office for six years. As secretary Rita is responsible for records and is available to organise Mass Bookings and the issuing of Sacramental Certificates. The Parish Office is open on Monday to Friday. All enquiries by phone 056 77 21253 or email stmaryscathedral@ossory.ie

St Mary’s Cathedral Parish Council

Formed in 2019 the Parish Council assists Fr Ryan in the pastoral work of the parish. Members have been drawn from the choir, eucharistic ministers, readers, and others. Meetings take place in the Presbytery. Members of the Parish Pastoral Committee: Sr Betty Cagney, Mr Ger Cody, Sr Nuala Horan, Ms Melanie Hyland, Ms Mary Kealy, Ms Rita Neary, Rev Dermot Ryan (Chairperson). Sr Nuala is the parish representative on the Deanery Pastoral Council. Sr Betty Cagney is the Child Protection Officer for the parish.

St Mary’s Cathedral Finance Committee

St Mary’s Cathedral Finance Committee was founded in 2019 and assists Fr Ryanin the financial administration of the parish. Meetings are held regularly, and a financial report is given by the Administrator. Members of the Finance Committee: Ms P Davis, Ms Tina Lalor, Ms Rita Neary, Rev Dermot Ryan.